This image, redrawn from
Thomas Langdon's 1602 maps, is the earliest
one known of Gamlingay. Here are a few more images relating to the village. Simply click on an image to enlarge it.
From left to right, top row:
1. Neolithic arrowheads found beside Gamlingay brook.
2. Prehistoric cropmarks: Heath. Possibly enclosures and droveways.
3. Prehistoric cropmarks: Blacklands. Possibly part of an enclosure.
4. Church graffiti: hic est sedes Margarete Taylard ('this is the seat of Margarete Taylard'). Mid-15th century - she died in 1475.
5. Church graffiti: mors comparat umbre que semper sequitur corpus ('Death is like a shadow, that always following a body'). Probably carved soon after the Black Death.
6. Church: misericord, c1445.
7. Church: Handgrip as an angel, choir stalls, c1445. Note the wear from centuries of use.
8. Tithe Barn, 1920s. Built in the 17th century, now demolished.
9. Crossroads, 1920s. Spot the policeman.
10. The Downing estate from the air in 1981, showing the site of the 18th century mansion, gardens and lake.
11. The Moon in 1904. Downing's folly, and the last part of the estate still standing.
12. Church Street c1910.
13. Church, early 20th century.
14. Cottages, Waresley Road, 1926.
15. Cottages, Green End, 1924. This and the previous photograph are evidence of the appalling state of many village homes, even well into the 20th century.
16. Cross Farm (17th century, left) and White Hall (c1585, right), at the crossroads in 1924. Both were demolished in the 1960s.
17. Gamlingay from the Church, 1894.
18. Lacemaking, Mrs Panter, or Paynter, c1910.
19. Girls' School, c1900. The faces tell their own story.
20. Class, 1928/9. Miss Margaret Gardiner back right. Her memoir A Scatter of Memories has a fascinating chapter on her year as a teacher in Gamlingay.